Do-overs

Things I would change if I had it to do over…

1. Before and during pregnancy, I would learn more about my birthing options.

2. I would ask more questions of my doctors in order to make truly informed choices instead of allowing them to make the decisions for me.

3. I would change my position regularly during labour.

4. I would develop better habits – for example, eating well and exercising regularly. So many other things I’d like to change stemmed from poor choices in these areas.

5. I wouldn’t ask for an epidural so early. In fact, knowing how amazing I felt after giving birth without drugs, I’d do it that way for sure.

6. I would provide a more peaceful atmosphere so my husband could speak his mind without fearing I’d go ballistic. I made most of the decisions unilaterally, and though he’s a great guy and never seems to have resented that fact, I’d definitely do it differently if I could.

And after the children arrived…

1. I wouldn’t make empty threats when they were misbehaving.

2. I would get up and go to where my children were to speak with them instead of yelling.

3. I would spend more time playing with them and less time hassling them about things that didn’t really matter.

4. I would assign them regular chores we could do together.

5. I would leave the TV off far more often.

6. I would prepare healthy foods and find a physical activity we could all enjoy.

Leave a comment